Poultry Science

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda
Jendaca@auburn.edu
334-844-1658
Reference Department



[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Agriculture Ref S 411 D 573 1998
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology Ref QH 575 D 52 1999
Dictionary of Genetics Ref QH 427 K 55 1997
Dictionary of Immunology Ref QR 180.4 R 67 1989b
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology QR 115 .E53 2000
Web Link
Encyclopedia of Immunology QR 180.4 E 56 1998
Web Link
Encyclopedia of Virology QR 358 .E53 1999
Web Link

Glossary of Genetics: Classical and Molecular Ref QH 427R 54 1991
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology Ref TP 368.2 .E62 2000


Handbooks and General Reference

Animal Health Yearbook SF 600 F 2
Sturkie's Avian Physiology QL 698 S 78 2000
British Poultry Standards SF 485 B 75 1997
Complete Book of Raising Livestock and Poultry SF 61C 66 1988
Chickens and Eggs
Web link
1st floor microfiche A 92.9/16:

Directory of Participants Handling Egg-type and Meat-type Chickens and Turkeys
1st floor microfiche A 101.10/2:91-
FAO Yearbook. Production. HD 1421 F 585
Feed Additive Compendium Ref SF 97 F 43
Genetics and Cell Biology on File Ref QH 440.2 .G455 1997
Livestock and Poultry Outlook and Situation Reports

1st floor microfiche A 93.46:

Manual of Avian Medicine Vet. Med. SF 994 O 47 2000
Modern Livestock and Poultry Production SF 61 G 5 2002
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: a Comprehensive Desk Reference Ref QH 506 M 66155 1995
Nutrient Requirements of Poultry Vet. Med. SF 494 N 371994
Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International Ref S 587 A 73 2000

Who's Who in the Egg and Poultry Industries in the United States and Canada HD 9284 U 4 .W 5


Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
HD 9234 Egg trade
HD 9437 Poultry Trade
QH 432 Animal Genetics
QR 180 - QR 189.5 Immunology, Antibodies, Vaccines
QR 311 Micro-organisms of Birds
SF 481 - SF 513 Poultry Science
SF 512 Aviculture
SF 757.2 Veterinary Immunology
SF 780.2 Veterinary Microbiology
SF 781 - SF 810 Infectious and Parasitic Diseases
SF 994 Avian Diseases
SF 995 Poultry Diseases


Top of Page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you willneed to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890

Subject Databases

Agricola

National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, book chapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1970 - Present. Public access (For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)

CABAbstracts

CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present. (For researching poultry literature before 1973, consult Helminthological Abstracts QL 392 H 4, Nurition Abstracts & Reviews RM 214 N 8, Poultry Abstracts SF 481 P 57.)

Biological Abstracts

Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present. (For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)

Medline (fromOVID)

Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research,clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etd. 1966-Present. Public access, OLDMEDLINE (1958-1965). (For researching medical literature from 1941-1959, consult Current List of Medical Literature Z 6660 C 8 .)

Chemical Abstracts

Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus. (For researching chemical literature from 1907-1966, consult Chemical Abstracts QD 1 A 51.)

Environmental Sciences

Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967. For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.

Zoological Record

Database covers animal behavior, biochemistry, genetics development, morphology,physiology, parasitology, immunology, and taxonomy. 1993-Present. (For researching zoological literature from 1864 to1993, consult Zoological Record QL 1 Z 675.)


General Databases

Academic Search Fulltext Elite

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded AcademicASAP

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980-Present.

Dissertation Abstracts

1861-Present. The most current two years are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 Present.

Reveal

An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicals or results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.

Ingenta

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty,graduate students and staff.


Citation Database

Science Citation Index

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1984 - Present. (For researching citation literature from 1961-1983, consult Science Citation Index Ref Q 1 S 3693.)


Top of page


[edit] Journals

Listof Current Print Poultry Science Journals

E-journalsat AU Libraries This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, notjust Poultry Science.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you needon the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

To search for articles, see the Indexes and Databases section of this guide.


Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

AgNIC (Agriculture Databases)

Guide to quality information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities and other institutions

Agricultural Databases for Decision Support

The ADD is a list of links organized by subject to agricultural information.

Agripedia

Centralized, general agricultural information including a Glossary and Subject Index

Animal Resources

Internet resources in veterinary medicine and zoology.

Beeds of Poultry

Information about raising chickens, turkeys, geese, and ducks.

Center for Animal Health Monitoring

USDA links to publications on the health of livestock, including poultry.

Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service

CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.

FeatherSite

Information about fowl, including images and descriptions.

FDA Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition

Information about food safety, toxicology, food additives & biotechnology.

National Center for Biotechnology Information

NCBI, a component of the National Library of Medicine, whose mission is to develop new information technologies to aid understanding of molecular and genetic processes.

Poultry Net

Listing of Web resources in Poultry from Georgia Tech.

Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory

Division of USDA Agricultural Research Service.

U.S. Poultry Genome Mapping

Archive mapping the genome of poultry species.

USDA Current Research Information System

Reporting system for research projects in agriculture, food & nutrition,and forestry.

Useful Links to External Food-Related WWW Resources

Good source of international information, food safety & food engineeringinformation.

Web-agri.com

An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages


Top of page


[edit] Research Guides

Immunology, an Information Profile Ref QR 182 N 53 1985
Literature of Animal Science and Health Vet. Med. SF22.5 L 58 1993


Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

AAV

(Association of Avian Veterinarians)

AEB

(American Egg Board)

AFA

(American Federation of Aviculture)

APA

(American Poultry Association)

IFT

(Institute of Food Technologists)

PSA

(Poultry Science Association)

USPOULTRY

(U.S. Poultry & Egg Association)


Top of page


[edit] DiscussionLists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University

(Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.)

Subject Specific

Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferences
BIOSCI/bionet Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology


Top of page


[edit] AuburnUniversity Department and Course Pages

Department of Poultry Science
College of Veterinary Medicine

Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Poultry Science


Top of page

If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:

Jendaca@auburn.edu