Public Speaking
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Print Resources
[edit] Indexes
Speech Index AI 3 .S85 1966
- "A guide to speeches of famous orators from the earliest times to the present day, and to types of speeches." Indexes standard collections of speeches, single volumes by various authors, books and public speaking; limited to books published in English from 1900 through 1965.
Index to American Women Speakers, 1828-1978 PS 400 .M3
- Index is divided into 4 sections: List of Books Indexed, Author, Subject, Title
We Shall Be Heard: An Index to Speeches by American Women 1978 to 1985 PS 408 .M37 1988
[edit] Texts
American Short Speeches: An Anthology PN 6122.A 47
- Speeches from colonial times to 1968. Each speech is introduced with extensive information on the speaker and the occasion and is followed by suggested further reading.
Anthology of Public Speeches PN 6122. P5
- An excellent anthology published in 1940, selections are arranged by time period throughout history, which include Greek, Roman, Patristic, Mediaeval, Reformation, French Revolution, British, American, and World War I.
Public Papers of the Presidents
- Hoover through Carter are shelved on 1st floor under Superintendent of Documents number GS 4. 113: Reagan on are under AE 2.114:. Washington through part of Clinton’s 2nd term are on CD-ROM entitled The Presidential Papers and shelved on the 3rd floor under the call number J 81 .C95 1995c.
Representative American Speeches PN 4181 .R33 (Link to AubieCat Records)
- Part of the series entitled The Reference Shelf, the types of speeches reprinted include lectures, sermons, eulogies, welcomes, farewells, inaugurals, as well as speeches at commencements, conventions, conferences, and awards. Topics vary, but cover representative subject areas. There is an index, sometimes cumulative, in each volume.
The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Link to AubieCat Record)
- Contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.
- Paper copies for 1985- located on 1st floor under the Superintendent of Documents number of AE 2.109: (1965 – 1984 is in closed stacks; 1993 - is online at http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/nara003.html and is also full text in several electronic databases.
[edit] Electronic Texts
- "Presents both full and partial texts of speeches with accompanying audio clips (Mp3 format) on a wide variety of subjects. Includes a database of over 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. Includes audio clips from well-known speeches, movies, sermons, popular songs, and media events by politicians, actors, preachers, athletes, singers, and other public figures. Also includes a full text, audio, and video database of over 50 Hollywood movie speeches, as selected by audiences of American rhetoric. Included are military movie speeches, sports-oriented movie speeches, forensic movie speeches, and social-political movie speeches."
Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
- This University of Oklahoma Law Center site includes inaugural addresses along with other speeches of every U.S. President.
Douglass Archives of American Public Address
- An electronic archive of American oratory and related documents produced for use at Northwestern University. Search by speaker, title, date, or subject.
The Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
- Maintained by Sweet Briar College this site includes texts of speeches made by influential contemporary women. Searchable, or browse by last name or date. Everyone from Elizabeth Cady Stanton in 1848 to Christiane Amanpour in 2000 is included.
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
- Part of the Bartleby.com great books sites, this includes all the inaugural addresses including George W. Bush’s.
- Includes many of FDR’s addresses and speeches
Public Papers of the Presidents
- Clinton’s papers (1993 through January 2001) and George H. Bush's papers (January - July 1992) are also available fulltext here. Many addresses and remarks for the Presidents are reproduced in the Federal Register.
- Selected writings and speeches through the Modern History Sourcebook (Fordham University).
- Full text beginning with volume 1, 1934, through Academic Search Premier, this title is published twice a month with each issue containing 8 to 10 speeches. It is also available in paper and microfiche (Link to AubieCat Record).
The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993 - )
- Contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.
- Paper copies (Link to AubieCat Record) for 1985- located on 1st floor under the Superintendent of Documents number of AE 2.109: (1965 – 1984 is in closed stacks.
[edit] Audio/Video
NOTE: Many of these require the free RealPlayer download to work.
- Keyword search in library catalog to identify video recordings and DVDs of speeches including the series Great Speeches and Great American Speeches.
American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
- "Presents both full and partial texts of speeches with accompanying audio clips (Mp3 format) on a wide variety of subjects. Includes a database of over 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. Includes audio clips from well-known speeches, movies, sermons, popular songs, and media events by politicians, actors, preachers, athletes, singers, and other public figures. Also includes a full text, audio, and video database of over 50 Hollywood movie speeches, as selected by audiences of American rhetoric. Included are military movie speeches, sports-oriented movie speeches, forensic movie speeches, and social-political movie speeches."
American Leaders Speak: Recordings from WWI and the 1920s Elections
- Part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection, The Nation's Forum Collection consists of fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes. RealAudio is needed to listen.
- Use RealAudio/Video to download and watch/listen to speeches in the C-SPAN archive (speeches are archived approximately 15 days).
Great American Speeches: 80 Years of Speech Oratory
- PBS site, mostly text, but those with audio and/or video need RealPlayer.
- RealAudio is needed on this audio only site. Categories include “Rogues ‘n’ Heroes”, Richard Nixon archives, Voices of the Civil Rights Era, among others. Trotsky, McCarthy, and Liddy are only a few of the personalities here.
- “Politically significant audio materials…” Transcripts are included but RealAudio is needed to listen.
History Channel Speech Archives
- Speeches are searchable & browsable several ways. RealPlayer is needed to listen.
The History Place: Great Speeches
- Assortment includes a 1530 speech by Queen Elizabeth I. Some of the more current speeches include RealAudio excerpts.
U.S. Presidents of the 20th Century
- From Michigan State University’s Vincent Voice Library, use an MP3 player or RealAudio to listen to presidents beginning with Benjamin Harrison.