Rehabilitation and Special Education

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Suggested Subject Headings

The following is a short list of subject headings for use in searching the library catalog for materials associated with Rehabilitation and Special Education.

Autistic children -- Education Mentally handicapped Communicative Disorders Minority handicapped -- Education Developmentally disabled Problem children--Education Disability evaluation Remedial teaching Educational tests and measurements Social skills Educational equalization Special education Exceptional children Special education -- Finance Handicapped Special education -- Law and legislation ==Inclusive education Special education -- Parent participation Learning disabilities Special education teachers Mainstreaming Teachers of handicapped children

[edit] Reference Sources

Buchanan, M. and M. C. Weller. (Eds.). (1997). Special education desk reference. San Diego, CA: Singular Pub. Group. Ref LC3981 .E45 1997

Child development abstracts and bibliography. Chicago: University of Chicago Press for the Society of Research in Child Development. Ref HQ750.A1 C47

The Complete directory for people with learning disabilities: products, resources, books and services. (1993). Lakeville, CT: Grey House Publishing. Ref LC4007 .D5 1994/95

Council for Exceptional Children. (1979). Parents, attitudes, counseling and education: 1979 topical bibliography. Reston, VA: The Council for Exceptional Children. Z5814.C52 E96 no.915 (Located in the General Collection)

The Directory for exceptional children. (1994). (13th ed.) Boston: Porter-Sargent Publishers. Ref LC4007 .D5 1993/94

The FCLD learning disabilities resource guide. (1985). New York: Foundation for Children with Learning disabilities, Education Systems, Inc. Ref LC4704.6 .F35 1985

Ferguson, J. (1997). Grants for special education and rehabilitation : how to find and win funds for research, training, and services. 3rd ed. Alexandria, VA: Capitol Publications. Ref LC241 .F47 1997

Houston, J. (Ed.). (1995). Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors. 13th ed. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press. Reference Desk Z696.1 .E3 T47 1995 (Located at the Reference Desk)

Kauffman, J.M. (1981). Handbook of special education. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, Inc. Ref LC3965 .H26

Mangrum, Charles T. (1992). Peterson’s colleges with programs for students with learning disabilites (3rd ed.). Princeton, NJ: Peterson’s Guides. Ref L901 .P458 1992

Mauser, A. J. (1981). Assessing the learning disabled: selected instruments. 3rd ed. Novato, CA: Academic Therapy Publications. Ref 4704 .M38 1981

Mindes, G., H. Ireton and C. Mardell-Czudnowski. (1996). Assessing young children. Albany, NY: Delmar Publishers. Ref LB1131 .M6146 1996

Osborne, A. G. (1988). Complete legal guide to special education services: a handbook for administrators, counselors, and supervisors. West Nyack, NY: Parker Publishing. Ref KF4210 .O83 1988

Reynolds, C. R. (1990). Concise encyclopedia of special education. New York: Wiley. Ref LC4007 .E53 1990

Reynolds, C. R. (1987). Encyclopedia of special education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults. New York: Wiley. Ref LC4007 .E53 1987

Spodek, B. (1993). Handbook of research on the education of young children. New York: Macmillan Pub. Co. Ref LB1119 .H25 1993

Vergason, G. A. and M. L. Anderegg (Eds.). (1997). Dictionary of special education and rehabilitation . 4th ed. Denver: Love Pub. Ref LC3957 .V47 1997

Walberg, Herbert J. and Geneva D. Haertel. (Eds.). (1990). The International encyclopedia of educational evaluation. 1st ed. New York: Pergamon Press, 1990. Ref LB2822.75 .I57 1990


[edit] Indexes (Printed)

Buros, Oscar Krisen (Ed.). (1974). Tests in print II : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon Press, 1974. Ref Z5814.E9 B82 1974

Buros, Oscar Krisen (Ed.). (1968-1975). Reading tests and reviews; including a classified index to The mental measurements yearbooks. Highland Park, NJ: Gryphon Press. Ref LB1050.46 .B87

Education index. New York: H. W. Wilson Co. Ref Z 5813 .E23

Exceptional child education resources. Reston, VA: Council for Exceptional Children. Ref LC3950.Z9 E8

Mitchell, James V. (Ed.) (1983). Tests in print III : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Ref Z5814.E9 B83 1983

Murphy, Linda L., Jane Close Conoley, and James C. Impara (Eds.). (1994). Tests in print IV : an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests. Lincoln, Neb: Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Ref Z5814.E9 B84 1994


[edit] Indexes & Databases

Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Dissertations & Theses

Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

EdResearch Online

Australian Council for Educational Research's database; includes more than 12,000 research documents and articles Covers much of what is indexed in the Australian Education Index (AEI) 9,000 freely available in full text, mostly post-1996. Remainder available for a fee ($22 Australian)


Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.


ERIC (via EBSCO)

ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.2 million articles and documents from 1966 onward. ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is a digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal and non-journal literature. Currently, more than 650 journals are indexed in ERIC. In addition, ERIC displays more than 100,000 full-text materials (Eric Documents) in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. Updated Monthly.


ERIC~ Education Resources Information Center.

Updated Weekly.


JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Health & General Science Collection.


OregonPDF in Health & Performance

OregonPDF in Health & Performance, formally Kinesiology Publications, collects and indexes graduate research studies (master’s and doctoral dissertations) on physical activity, dance, play, sport, athletics and movement of individuals with disabilities. It includes research from biomechanics, motor control and development, sports medicine, measurement and kinanthropometry and related fields, available on microfiche and in electronic format.


Kraus Curriculum Development Library

Collects, evaluates, and selects curricula, frameworks, and standards to meet the needs of those who need to locate, examine, compare, and contrast examples of these.


Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.


Professional Collection

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour online access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator.


Professional Development Collection

Provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.


PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports.Covers nearly 2000 periodicals in over 25 languages.


Psych Articles

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.


Social Sciences Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.


Social Sciences Full Text

Indexes, abstracts and full-text from periodicals covers areas that include addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, policy sciences, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies.


Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.


SPORTDiscus

Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment.


Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.


[edit] General Databases

Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Expanded Academic ASAP

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 - Present.


LexisNexis Academic

Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.


Web of Science

Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.


[edit] Journals

Behavioral Disorders. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Career Development for Exceptional Individuals. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Clinical Kinesiology. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Counselor Education and Supervision. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Educational and Psychological Measurement. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Education & Training in Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities.

Exceptional Children. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Exceptional Parent.

Focus on Exceptional Children. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Gifted Child Today Magazine.

Intervention in School and Clinic. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Early Intervention.Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Learning Disabilities. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Special Education. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Rehabilitation. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Vocational Rehabilitation. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal of Visual Impairment and Blindness. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Journal for Vocational Special Needs Education. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Neuropsychological Rehabilitation. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Physical Therapy. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Research Quarterly for Exercise & Sport Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Rehabilitation Education. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Remedial and Special Education. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Review of Special Education.

Rural Special Education Quarterly.

Special Education Report.

Teaching Exceptional Children. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Topics in Early Childhood Special Education. Refereed/Peer Reviewed

Topics in Learning & Learning Disabilities.(Former titles: Journal for Special Educators, Remedial and Special Education) Refereed/Peer Reviewed

[edit] Web Sites

American Rehabilitation Counseling Association
National Library of Education
Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI)
National Rehabilitation Counseling Association
American Occupational Therapy Association
American Occupational Therapy Foundation
American Therapeutic Recreation Association