Religious Studies
From SubjectGuides
|
Contents |
[edit] Reference Tools
Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection (near the Reference Desk -- 2nd floor, RBD Library) or in the general collection. (Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.)
[edit] General Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- The Encyclopedia of Religion (16 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BL 31 .E46 1986
- Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
- Reference Collection BL 31 .O84 1997
- New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge (13 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BR 95 .S43 1949
- online version
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas (5 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: (CB 5 .D52 1980)
- online version
[edit] Specialized Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Ethics (3 vols.)
- Reference Collection BJ 63 .E45 2001
- Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics (13 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 31 .E4
- The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature (2 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 31. E465 2005
- Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (2 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 240.3 .E43 2003
- Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America (3 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 458 .E52 2006
- Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 458 .E53 1999
[edit] Christianity
- The Encyclopedia of Christianity (projected 5 vols.)
- (adapted English trans. of Evangelisches Kirchenlexicon)
- Reference Collection BR 95 .E8913 1999
- The Encyclopedia of Protestantism (4 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (18 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BX 841 .N44 1967
- World Christian Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection BR 157 .W67 2001
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (4 vols.)
- Reference Collection BR 302.8 .O93 1996
- Butler’s Lives of the Saints (12 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BX 4654 .B8 1995
- Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 vols.)
- Reference Collection BS 440 .A54 1992
- The Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible (4 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BS 440 .I5
- Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (11 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BS 440 .B5713
- Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (10 vols.)
- 3rd Floor: PA 881 .K513
- International Standard Bible Encyclopedia (4 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BS 440 .I6 1979
- Harper’s Bible Dictionary
- 2nd Floor: BS 440 .H237 1985
- The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology
- Reference Collection BS 2397 .N48
- Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature (10 vol.)
- Reference Collection BR 95 .M352
- The NRSV Concordance Unabridged
- Reference Collection BS 425 .K645 1991
- The New Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
- 2nd Floor: BS 425 .S8 1990
- The Interpreter’s Bible (12 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BS 491.2 I55
- Harper's Bible Commentary
- 2nd Floor: BS 491.2 .H37 1988
- The Harper Atlas of the Bible
- 2nd Floor: G 2230 .H47 1987
- The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics
- 2nd Floor: BJ 1199 .W47 1986
- The Catholic Encyclopedia
- (Online version of the 1913 edition--a work in progress)
[edit] Judaism
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (16 vols., 1st edition, 1972)
- 2nd Floor: DS 102.8 .E496
- Encyclopaedia Judaica (22 vols., 2nd edition, 2007)
- 2nd Floor: DS 102.8 .E496 2007
- The New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia
- 2nd Floor: DS 102.8 .S73 1992
- The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
- Reference Collection BM 50 .E63 2002
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
- Reference Collection: BM 50 .O94 1997
- Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls
- 2nd Floor: BM 487 .E53 2000
- JewishEncyclopedia.com
- Online version of the The Jewish Encyclopedia (12 vol., 1906)
[edit] Islam
- The Encyclopaedia of Islam
- Reference Collection: DS 37 .E523
- E.J. Brill's First Encyclopaedia of Islam (9 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: DS 35.53 .E53 1987
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BP 40 .E525 2003
- The Qurơan: An encyclopedia
- Reference Collection: BP 133 .Q87 2006
- Islamic Desk Reference
- Reference Collection: DS 35.53 .I83 1994
- The Muslim almanac
- Reference Collection BP 40 .M83 1996
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (4 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: DS 35.53 .O95 1995
- Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
[edit] Hinduism
- Hindu World: An Encyclopedic Survey of Hinduism (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BX 841 .N44 1967
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
- Handbook of Hindu Mythology
- 2nd Floor: BL 1111.4 .W55 2003
[edit] Buddhism
- Encyclopaedia of Buddhism (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection: BQ 128 .E62 2003
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy
- Reference Collection: B 121 .C66 1997
[edit] Confucianism
- RoutledgeCurzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection BL 1840 .R68 2003
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
- Reference Collection B 121 .C66 1997
[edit] American Religion
- Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience (3 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 2525 .E53 1987
- Encyclopedia of American Religions
- Reference Collection: BL 2525 .M449 1989
- The Encyclopedia of American Religious History (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection BL 2525 .Q44 1996
- Encyclopedia of African-American Religions
- Reference Collection: BR 563 .N4 E53 1993
- Dictionary of Christianity in America
- 2nd Floor: BR 515 .D53 1990
- Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
- 2nd Floor: BR 535 .E52 1984
- The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture (Vol. 1: Religion)
- Reference Collection F 209 .N47 2006
- Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
- 2nd Floor: E 98 .R3 H73 2000
- Religious Leaders of America
- 2nd Floor: BL 72 .M458 1991
- Biographical Dictionary of American Cult and Sect Leaders
- 2nd Floor: BL 2525 .M448 1986
- The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America
- 2nd Floor: G 1201 .E4 C3 2000
- New Historical Atlas of Religion in America
- 2nd Floor: G 1201 .E4 N4 2001
[edit] Mythology
- Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Myth
- Reference Collection BL 715 .D56 1998
- Mythologies (2 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BL 311 .D513 1991
- Dictionary of Classical Mythology,…
- 2nd Floor: BL 715 .B44 1982
- Man, Myth, & Magic
- The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion,... (12 vols.)
- 2nd Floor: BF 1411 .M25 1983
[edit] Handbooks, Directories, and Statistics
- Religious Information Sources: A Worldwide Guide
- 2nd Floor Call Number: (BL 48 .M38 1992)
- Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches
- Reference Collection BR 513 .Y4
Note: Back issues (1973-2004) can be found under the same call number in the stacks. The Yearbooks contain statistical data based on reports from U.S. and Canadian Christian denominations. Statistics reported include membership figures, financial contributions, the number of congregations, clergy, etc. The Yearbooks also provide data on seminary enrollment, including figures for women and ethnic minorities.
- World Guide to Religious and Spiritual Organizations
- Reference Collection BL 35 .W67
- Directory of Religious Organizations in the United States
- Reference Collection BL 2525 .M453 1993
- National Directory of Churches, Synagogues, and Other Houses of Worship
- 2nd Floor Call Number: (BL 2525 .N38)
- Directory of African American Religious Bodies
- Reference Collection BR 563 .N4 D57 1995
- World Christian Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
- Reference Collection BR 157 .W67 2001
- Britannica online
- (see religion article in Britannica Book of the Year for statistics)
[edit] Library of Congress Subject Profile
Call number ranges for browsing.
- BL 1-2790 Religions. Mythology. Rationalism.
- BM 1-990 Judaism
- BP 1-610 Islam. Bahai Faith. Theosophy, etc.
- BQ 1-9800 Buddhism
- BR 1-1725 Christianity
- BS 1-2970 The Bible
- BT 10-1480 Doctrinal theology
- BV 1-5099 Practical theology
- BX 1-9999 Christian denominations
[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles
All databases can be accessed from both on and off-campus unless otherwise noted. To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID (i.e., the first part of your AU email address), and your password.
[edit] Subject Databases
- Philosopher's Index
- The premier international bibliographic resource in philosophy. Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Click here for a list of journals indexed by this database.
- Coverage: 1940-present Scope: 570 journals/43 countries.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason. You may limit your search to the subject areas of philosophy and religion.
- Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans
- Covers American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century. This database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period. Browsable subject categories include religion and philosophy.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Indexes over 630 scholarly journals, covering articles, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- MLA International Bibliography
- Indexes critical scholarship in religion as it relates to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.
- Coverage: 1963-present
[edit] General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 scholarly journals. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
- Coverage: 1975-present
- Academic OneFile
- A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Coverage: 1980-present
- Project Muse
- Provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The collection may be searched collectively or individually. Click here for a list of religion journal available for browsing.
- Coverage: 1990-present
- Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
- The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Over 100,00 titles are available full-text.
[edit] Citation Database
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- Indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
[edit] Current Awareness Database
- Ingenta
- A general database of article information taken from over 20,000 journals. Allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. You will need to set up an account first. Call 844-1745 for instructions.
- Document Delivery Ariel address: 131.204.73.106.
- **Available to AU faculty and graduate students only.**
- Coverage: 1988-present
- For other document delivery options, see Request Materials
[edit] Finding Journals in the Library Catalog
Search the AU Library Catalog to see if AU Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access. To search for journal articles, see the "Databases for Finding Journal Articles" section of this guide.
- "Basic Search" in the library catalog: Click on the Basic Search tab. Select "Journal Title" from the "Search By" menu. Type in the name of the journal. Do not include "The" or "A" if either is the first word in the journal title.
- Journal title search on library homepage: You may also use the search box on the library homepage to search for journals. Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu.
Lists of selected journal titles available at AU Libraries
- E-journals at AU Libraries includes all subject areas, not just religion. You may select Philosophy and Religion from the subject category pull-down menu.
- Selected list of Religion Journals available in paper/print format. Call Numbers are included. Last updated in 2006.
Still can't find the journal in the AU Library Catalog for the year(s) you need? In most cases, you can obtain a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan. See Delivery Services for more information.
[edit] Web Sites
[edit] Religion Portals
- Virtual Religion Index (Rutgers University)
[edit] World Religions
- Islam and Islamic Studies (Univ. of Georgia)
- Introduction to Islam (The Middle East Institute)
- Buddhanet.net (Buddha Dharma Education Assoc.)
[edit] Online Encyclopedias
- New Schaff-Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge
- Online version of the 1914 encyclopedia made available by Christian Classics Ethereal Library
- The Catholic Encyclopedia
- Online version of the 1913 edition. (work in progress)
[edit] Digital Text & Image Collections
- Religion-Online
- A digital library of over 1,500 English-language Christian theological classic and contemporary works. This site does not address Eastern and Orthodox Christian traditions, nor those of non-Christian religions.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library
- An online theological library of classic texts from the Christian tradition.
- ATLA Cooperative Digital Initiatives Project
- "[P]rovides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography" (quoted from website).
[edit] Associations and Societies
- American Academy of Religion
- This is the largest, most comprehensive association dedicated to promoting the academic study of religion. All of the world's major religious traditions, as well as indigenous and historical religions, are explored in the work of AAR members.
[edit] Miscellaneous Religion Websites
- Speaking of Faith
- Public radio program about "religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas" (SOF website). Accessible via the Web and podcast.
- Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
- "[S]eeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs" (website).
- Research in Ministry (ATLA)
- A freely available database that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981.
- Pluralism Project (Harvard University)
- Presents field research on congregations and worship centers in U.S. cities, mostly religious communities other than Jewish or Christian.
- American Religion Data Archive
- Includes data about churches, membership, individuals, congregations, and denominations.
- Adherents.com
- A site listing references to published membership/adherent statistics and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, religious bodies, etc.
[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages
Auburn University offers a Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Philosophy with a Concentration in Religious Studies For degree requirements, click here