School Psychology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
Education Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Ask A Librarian ~ Chat Email Phone
Spring 2009 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 11 - 1 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 5 - 9 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment


Contents

[edit] Library of Congress Subject Headings

Due to its multi-disciplinary nature, materials of interest to psychologists may be classified in Education, sociology, biology and mathematics.

BF Psychology

Psychometrics

Psychoanalysis

Experimental Psychology

Sensation

Cognition. Perception. Intelligence

Emotion. Will

Applied Psychology

Comparative Psychology

Motivation

Personality

Genetic Psychology

Developmental Psychology

Child Psychology

Temperament. Character. Physiognomy

QA Statistics HM Social Psychology HQ Family (social groups) LC Special Education LB Educational Psychology RC Psychotherapy GN Ethnic Psychology

[edit] Indexes & Databases

AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations
Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Dissertations
ERIC
Eric via Ebsco
MEDLINE

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree numbers, tree hierarchy and explosion capabilities to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

PsycINFO

PsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.


PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline Provides online access to the main publications of the American Psychiatric Press including the most recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR.) and The American Journal of Psychiatry. In addition to various psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools this database provides online versions of the following journals: The American Journal of Psychiatry (AJP), Psychiatric Services , Academic Psychiatry, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences , and Psychosomatics.


Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.

[Social Services Abstracts Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Science Direct

Science Direct is based upon the Elsevier Science journal collection which provides in- depth coverage of a wide range of scientific disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

PsycINFO Channel ~ You Tube

All of our videos are available on the PsycINFO Channel: PsycINFO Department of the American Psychological Association is pleased to share training videos with you through the popular site YouTube. These videos provide guidance to using various features, as well as give tips to build precise searches. We are adding new videos regularly.

[edit] Journals

Adolescence
American Journal of Community Psychology
American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
American Journal of Psychology
American Psychologist
Applied Psychological Measurement
Behavior Therapy
Behavior
British Journal of Health Psychology
British Journal of Mathematical & Statistical Psychology
Cognitive Psychology
Developmental Psychology
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology
Journal of Anxiety Disorders
Journal of Community Psychology
Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Journal of Clinical Psychology
Journal of Experimental Child Psychology
Journal of Experimental Psychology
Journal of Genetic Psychology
Journal of Humanistic Psychology
Journal of Personality Assessment
Journal of Psychology
Journal of Psychosomatic Research
Journal of Research in Personality
Journal of School Psychology
Journal of Social Psychology
Professional Psychology, Research & Practice
Psychological Bulletin
Psychological Record
Psychological Review
Psychology of Sport & Exercise
Psychology of Women Quarterly
Quarterly Journal of Experimental Psychology: Part A & B
Sexual Addiction & Compulsivity
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Social Psychiatry
Social Psychology
Sport Psychologist

[edit] Government Agencies

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

NIMH website provides information from the Federal agency that conducts and supports research on mental illnesses. ... Description: Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Included are brochures and information...

Selected Mental Health Associations

American Psychological Association

Promotes research and represents the professional interests of psychologists in the United States.

The National Alliance for the Mentally Ill

Nonprofit, grassroots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers, families, and friends.

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance

The alliance provides information about mood disorders, advocacy, the illness, donations, support groups, chapter management, information...

National Foundation for Depressive Illness, Inc.

The National Foundation For Depressive Illness (NAFDI) was established in 1983 to provide public and professional information about Affective Disorders, the availability of treatment, and the urgent need for further research.

The National Mental Health Association (NMHA)

Nonprofit organization addressing all aspects of mental health and mental ...