Services for COB Graduate Students

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

[edit] Library Services for the College of Business Graduate Students

Welcome to the AU Libraries! The Libraries offer many resources and services available to support the research and teaching of the graduate students in the College of Business. Should you have any questions about resources or services available, please contact the Reference Desk at 844-1737, or e-mail askalibrarian@auburn.edu


If you would like to suggest materials for purchase by the libraries, please email askalibrarian@auburn.edu with the information.


Contents


[edit] Business Information Resources

Electronic Databases

AU Libraries subscribe to over ten different electronic databases specifically dedicated to business information. Topics covered include business literature, company information, industry profiles, economic theory and indicators, international business, statistics, and more. A-Z List of Business Databases or Business Databases by Topic


Scholarly Journals

AU Libraries has a large collection of scholarly business journals. When possible, journals are being made available in electronic format. Electronic Journal List- Business & Economics


Books

AU Libraries automatically receives books from all University presses, such as Harvard, MIT, University of Chicago, Oxford, etc. http://aubiecat.auburn.edu


[edit] Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses

The most comprehensive index to dissertations and theses, covering the years from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published from 1980 forward contain abstracts and many have a 24-page preview. Auburn dissertations and theses may be downloaded for free when available.


Abstracts for older dissertations (pre-1980) may be found in Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI), the precursor to the online index. The volumes are shelved at Z 5055 .U5 D5 in Closed Stacks. These can be requested at the Circulation Desk on the 1st Floor.


[edit] Getting a Copy of a Thesis or Dissertation

Auburn University Dissertations

Online Auburn University dissertations from Fall 2005 to the present.


Dissertations from other Universities

  • Search AubieCat for a copy.
  • Try looking for an online copy. Many universities are putting their dissertations online.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  • Try an internet search.
Sometimes a title search will bring up an electronic copy.
  • Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
Click on the InterLibrary Loan/AUBIExpress link on the Libraries' homepage. You'll need to log into ILLiad (our interlibrary loan system) with your global ID and password. More information about InterLibrary Loan is located on the Document Delivery Services page. A few tips for successful ILL requests:
Fill out the ILL request form as completely as possible.
Unless you want microfiche, put the following message in the Notes field: No microforms, please. If you still receive microfiche, contact ILL and ask them for a paper copy. Sometimes only the microfiche is available, though.


[edit] Article and Book Delivery

Book Chapter and Article Delivery via Interlibrary Loan/AUBIExpress

Have the publication information or citation for a book chapter or journal article that you need? If the library owns the item, we will scan the article or book chapter and deliver it to you electronically. If we don’t own it, we can order it for you for free! See more info at: www.lib.auburn.edu/ill/request_materials.html


Book Delivery- AU Libraries Campus Delivery Service

Want to check out a book available in the RBD Library? Use the AU Libraries Campus Delivery Service to have it checked out and delivered directly to your campus office. www.lib.auburn.edu/ill/owned.html


[edit] Research Support

Research Consultations

When you need to find information, the AU Business Librarian is available to consult with you to develop a search strategy, recommend resources, or demonstrate how to use a resource. Contact the Reference Desk at 844-1737, or e-mail askalibrarian@auburn.edu .


Journal Alert Services

Electronic Alerts from databases- Many electronic databases offer the ability to set up email notification alerts to let you know when new content has been added to their site. You can use these services to alert you to a new issue of a journal available in electronic format. Some databases also allow you to create an alert for new content on a particular topic. See this guide for more information about setting up Alerts.


[edit] Teaching Support

Business Research Skills

Have an assignment that you want your students to complete using business information sources? The AU Libraries Business Librarian is available to come to your class to teach students research skills and recommend resources to use for a particular assignment.


Course Reserves

Electronic- Place articles or tests on reserve in full-text format via AU Libraries E-Reserves. Contact: eleresv@auburn.edu or 844-1701


Print Items- Books, tests or other print items are placed on reserve under instructor’s name, department and course number/name.

www.lib.auburn.edu/reserves.htm