Social Work
From SubjectGuides
- Library Specialist
Greg Schmidt
schmigr@auburn.edu
334-844-1736
Contents |
[edit] Reference Tools
Encyclopedia of Social Work
2nd. Floor Reference Collection. Call Number HV.35.S6 V.19 pts.1-3
Social Work Abstracts
- Continues Social work research & abstracts.
- Publication Information: Washington, DC : National Association of Social Workers, Vol. 30, no. 1 (Mar. 1994- Present Frequency: Quarterly. Reference Collection. Call Number: HV 1 .A23
- Current Issues Shelved alphabetically by title.
Social work research & abstracts [electronic resource].
- Publication Information: [New York] : National Association of Social Workers, Vol. 13, no. 2 (summer 1977)-v. 29, no. 4 (Dec. 1993).
- Available on the World Wide Web.
- Search Academic Search Premier for this title
- Notes: Access restrictions may apply. Available: 1990:Jan. - 1993:Dec.
- Available in Print.
- Location: - Reference Collection Call Number: HV 1 .A2
Social work research
- Continues in Part: Social work research and abstracts, 0148-0847.
- Location: Social Sciences (3rd Floor) Call Number: HV 1 .A22 Available: v.18 (1994)-v.23 (1999)
- Location: Social Sciences (3rd Floor) - Current Issues Call Number: Shelved alphabetically by title.
- Also available on the World Wide Web.
- Search Academic Search Premier for this title
- Notes: Access restrictions may apply. Available: 1994:Jan.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
- RBD Library (2nd Floor) Reference Desk.
Administration in social work
- Publication Information: [New York] : Haworth Press, 1977- Vol. 1, no. 1 (spring 1977)- Frequency: Quarterly-Social work administration--Periodical.
- Social Sciences (3rd Floor) Call Number: HV 1 .A27 Available: v.1 (1977)-v.23 (1999/2000)
- Current Issues Shelved alphabetically by title
The social work dictionary
- by Robert L. Barker.
- Publication Information: Washington, D.C. : NASW Press, National Association of Social Workers, c1991. Description: xv, 287 p. ; 26 cm. 2nd ed.
- Location: - Reference Collection Call Number: HV 12 .B37 1991
The Sage encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
- by Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan E. Bryman, Tim Futing Liao
- Publication Information: Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, c2004.
- Library: Auburn University Libraries
- Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
- Call Number: H 62 .L456 2004 Available: v.1-3
Encyclopedia of children and childhood : in history and society
- edited by Paula S. Fass.
- Publication Information: New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2004.
- Library: Auburn University Libraries
- Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
- Call Number: HQ 767.84 .E53 2003 Available: v.1-3
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences
- editors-in-chief Neil J. Smelser, Paul B. Baltes.
- Publication Information: Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
- Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
- Call Number: H 41 .I58 2001
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually: two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890
- Social Services Abstracts 1980-Current
- ID required if accessing from off campus
- Sociological Abstracts
- ID required if accessing from off campus
- Social Science Research Network
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN), provided by Social Science Electronic Publishing, Inc. (SSEP). Offers access to downloadable papers, abstracts, and a site search engine. Provides information on seminars and other social science-related events. ID required if accessing from off campus.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
- InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 � Present
-
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
-
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral informa tion from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
The ERIC database, the world's largest source of education information, contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database is updated monthly, and provides access to educational literature going back to 1966.
Statistical Universe
CIS� Statistical Universe is the world's most comprehensive access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full-text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
NewsBank NewsFile
A full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from over 500 U.S. and Canadian newspapers, news sources and domestic and international newswires. More than 70,000 articles selected annually provide regional, national and international perspectives and in-depth coverage of the arts, people, and professions.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)--1984-present
- Dissertation Abstracts
- 1861 � Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.
Current Awareness Resources
The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. The CQ Researcher's hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.
[edit] Journals
Auburn's Social Work Related Journals
Critical Social Work Other online Social Science Journals
[edit] Web Sites
Social Worker Web Links
Social Work and Social Services JOBS Online:
[edit] Associations and Societies
National Association of Social Workers:
http://www.naswdc.org/
The Social Worker Online:
http://www.socialworker.com/
The Association of Oncology Social Workers:
http://www.aosw.org
Clinical Social Work Federation
http://www.cswf.org/
[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages
Auburn University Department of Social Work:
http://www.auburn.edu/academic/liberal_arts/sociology/social_work/