Technical Reports

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

[edit] Locating Technical Reports

The Ralph Brown Draughon Library at Auburn University has a large collection of technical reports, with major holdings of reports from DOE, NASA, EPA, and their contractors. Most reports are in microfiche or microcard and are housed in the Microforms and Government Documents area on the 1st floor of the library.

To locate a technical report, begin by searching the Libraries' catalog, AubieCat. Reports are listed by individual title or by the report series title.

If a report is not listed in AubieCat, it does not mean we do not own it. For more assistance, please contact the Microforms and Government Documents Service Desk at 334-844-1702 or your subject specialist librarian.


[edit] Databases

Selected full text technical reports are available from the following databases.

ADAMS

"ADAMS (Agencywide Documents Access and Management System) ... provides access to all image and text documents that the NRC [Nuclear Regulatory Commission] has made public since November 1, 1999, as well as bibliographic records (some with abstracts and full text) that the NRC made public before November 1999."

DTIC Online

The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) provides the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.

Energy Citations Database

"ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, computer science and related disciplines. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents." ECD covers the AEC from 1948 to 1974, the ERDA from 1974 to 1976 and the DOE from 1977 to the present.

NASA Technical Reports Server

"NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos."

NEMI

"NEMI [National Environmental Methods Index] is a free, searchable clearinghouse of methods and procedures for both regulatory and non-regulatory monitoring purposes for water, sediment, air and tissues."

NCSA Publications

Publications from the National Center for Statistics and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

NSCEP/NEPIS

"EPA's gateway to free Digital & paper publications. More than 7,000 in stock and 26,000 digital titles are available FREE of charge to search and retrieve, download, print and/or order from the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)."

NTIS

NTIS is a government agency which indexes and sells technical reports and other materials, most often produced through U.S. government-sponsored research. The search engine provides access to reports from 1964 to present. Because Auburn University is a federal depository library, we have access to a database with over 200,000 full-text, digitized reports from 1964-2000. To see if a report is available full-text, contact your subject librarian or the library's reference desk to search the database.

NTL Integrated Search

Publications from the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies. Includes the TRIS (Transportation Research Information Service) database, the National Transportation Library Catalog, and the NTL Digital Repository.

Science Accelerator

"Science Accelerator searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy."

Science.gov

"Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results."

Scientific Commons

"ScientificCommons.org aims to provide the most comprehensive and freely available access to scientific knowledge on the internet." Provides documents from scientific repositories around the world.

ScienceResearch.com

"ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results."

Scientific Publications

Research publications from the NATO Research & Technology Organisation.

Scirus

"[A]llows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information."

Scitopia.org

Searches publications from twenty-one science and technology societies, patents from the United States, Europe, and Japan, and technical reports from the Department of Energy Information Bridge site.

USGS Publications Warehouse

Over 40,000 full text publications from the U.S. Geological Survey and the U.S. Department of the Interior.

The Virtual Technical Reports Center

"The Institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web.This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds."

WorldWideScience.org: The Global Science Gateway

"A global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals." Provides documents and citations from scientific repositories around the world.