Theater

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Nancy Noe
Second Floor, Reference
RBD Library
334-844-1774


[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre (PN 1861.W67 1994)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: an International Reference(PN 1625.M3 1984)
Shakespeare A-Z (PR 2892.B69 1990)
NTC's Dictionary of Theatre and Drama Terms (PN 2035.M63 1992)
The Facts on File Dictionary of the Theatre (PN 2035.F27 1988

[edit] Subject Databases

MLA Bibliography
Literature Online
Project Muse
JSTOR


[edit] Journals

The following is a representative list of theater journals available in AU Libraries. For a complete listing, search the online catalogby journal title.

American Theatre [PN 2000 .A52]
Comparative Drama [PN 1601 .C66]
Dancemagazine [GV 1580 .D246]
Dance Teacher [GV 1580 .D333]
Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism [PN 1601 .J6]
Modern Drama [PN 1861 .M55]
Latin American Theatre Review [PQ 7070 .A1 L3]
New Theatre Quarterly [PN 2001 .T4352]
Plays and Players Applause [PN 2001 .P58]
TD & T [NA 6821 .T45]
TDR: The Drama Review [PN 1601 .T8]
Theater [PN 2000 .Y34]
Theatre Journal [PN 3171 .E38]
Theatre Notebook [PN 2001 .T43]
Theatre Research International [PN 2001 .T436]
Theatre Survey [PN 2000 .T716]


[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

PN 1600-3307 Drama
PN 1660-1693 Technique of dramatic composition
PN 1720-1861 History
PN 1865-1988 Special types
PN 1990-1992.92 Broadcasting
PN 1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts
PN 1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts
PN 1992.93-1992.95 Nonbroadcast video recordings
PN 1993-1999 Motion pictures
PN 1997-1997.85 Plays, scenarios, etc.
PN 2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
PN 2061-2071 Art of acting
PN 2085-2091 The stage and accessories
PN 2131-2193 By period
PN 2131-2145 Ancient
PN 2152-2160 Medieval
PN 2171-2179 Renaissance
PN 2181-2193 Modern
PN 2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
PN 3035 The Jewish theater
PN 3151-3171 Amateur theater
PN 3175-3191 College and school theatricals
PN 3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings,", etc.
TT 697-927 Home arts, including sewing and decorative crafts.


[edit] Guides

Music Theater


[edit] Web Sites

National Endowment for the Arts http://arts.endow.gov/
Internet Broadway Database http://www.ibdb.com/
Playbill Magazine http://www.playbill.com/
Alabama Shakespeare Festival http://www.asf.net/
The Costume Site http://www.milieux.com/costume/index.html
American Dance Guild http://www.americandanceguild.org/