US Demographics

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] United States Census

State and County QuickFacts

American Factfinder

County and City Databook

USA Counties

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2006

[edit] Historical Data

1990 Census (US Census Bureau)
1980 Census (Missouri Census Data Center)
United States Historical Census Browser, 1790-1960 (University of Virginia Library)
This includes total, white, free African American and slave populations, churches, education and literacy, vital statistics, and economic data. Data collected varies by census.
NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center)
"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000."
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Includes links to current and older editions of the Statistical Abstracts. Also includes PDF's of the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 2 volume set.
Social Explorer (AU only)
Includes data beginning with the 1940 census
IPUMS-USA (Minnesota Population Center)

[edit] Other Resources

Federal Agency Statistical Reports

FedStats

MapStats

[edit] Print Resources

LifeStyle Market Analyst (Reference HF 5415.33 .U6 L54)

Published by SRDS and Equifax, LifeStyle Market Analyst provides market analysis of potential local, regional and national audiences.

Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics (Reference HA 203 .S66)

Demographic and marketing variables.

Demographics USA. County Edition (3rd Floor HF 5437 .S48)

Demographic data for over 3,000 counties.