Women's Studies
From SubjectGuides
|
Contact for questions about research:
|
[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories (HQ 1190 .E63 2000)
- Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature (PN 471 .W455 2004)
- The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature (PQ 149. F47 1999)
- The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature (PQ 6055 .F46 2002)
- Historical Dictionary of Feminism (HQ 1115 .B65 2004)
- International Encyclopedia of Women's Suffrage (JF 851 .H28 2000)
- The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism & Postfeminism (HQ 1115 .R68 2000)
- Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women’s Issues and Knowledge (HQ 1115 .R69 2000)
- Women's Issues (HQ 1115 .W6425 1997)
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia (HQ 1115 .W645 1995)
[edit] Handbooks and General Reference Books
- Handbook of American Women’s History (HQ 1410 .H36 2000)
- Handbook of Gender & Work (HQ 1233 .H33 1999)
- Women's Associations Worldwide (HQ 1883 .E53 1993)
- Women's Desk Reference (HQ 1236.5 .U6 F73 1993)
[edit] Biographical Sources
- A to Z of Women in Science and Math (Q 141 .Y675 1999)
- Biographical Dictionary of Women (REF CT 3202 .C48 1996)
- Notable American women, 1607-1950; a biographical dictionary
(REF CT 3260 .N57)
- Notable American women : the modern period : a biographical dictionary
(CT 3260 .N573)
- Who's Who of American Women (REF CT 3260 .W5 v.22 2000-2001)
[edit] Library of Congress Subject Profile Call Numbers
HQ: The Family, Marriage, Woman
- > HQ 1100 Women, Feminism
- > HQ 1180 Women's Studies, Study and Teaching, Research
- > HQ 1190 Feminist Theory
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access remotely, type in your university ID and password when prompted.
Subject Databases
Current Awareness Resource
- Ingenta A general database of over 8 million articles in many disciplines. Coverage of more than 18,000 journals begins with Fall 1988. Subsidized document delivery up to $45.00 per article. (AU Faculty, Staff and Graduate Students Only)
Citation Database
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexWeb of Science provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. 1984 – Present.
[edit] Journals
List of Women's Studies Journals available through AU Libraries
For a complete and detailed listing of journal holdings at Auburn University Libraries, search the online catalog by journal title
Online Journals
- Feminist Studies http://www.feministstudies.org/
- Feminista! http://www.feminista.com/
[edit] Research Guides
General
- Book Reviews http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/resgd/bkrev.html
- Literary Criticism http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/resgd/litcrit.html
English Literature
- Nineteenth-Century British Women Poets http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/resgd/19ctwm.html
- Victorian Periodicals http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/resgd/victorian.html
[edit] Associations and Societies
- Association for Women in Science http://www.awis.org/
- The association promotes participation and equity for women in science, mathematics, engineering and technology. The site includes scholarship information, articles from their magazine and current issues.
- National Women's Studies Association http://www.nwsa.org/
- NWSA supports and promotes feminist/womanist teaching, learning, research, and professional and community service at the pre-K through post-secondary levels and serves as a locus of information about the inter-disciplinary field of Women's Studies for those outside the profession. NWSA publishes a newsletter NWSA Action and NWSA Journal, an official publication of the National Women's Studies Association, publishes the most up-to-date interdisciplinary, multi-cultural feminist scholarship linking feminist theory with teaching and activism.
- Society for Women Engineers http://www.swe.org/
- SWE is a non-profit educational service organization dedicated to making known the need for women engineers and encouraging young women to consider an engineering education. Site information includes announcements, scholarship opportunities and career services.
- Society for Women in Philosophy http://www.uh.edu/~cfreelan/SWIP/
- The site provides society information, online articles, reading lists, bibliographies job announcements and related eesources.
[edit] Web Pages
Women's Studies
- Women's Studies at Auburn University http://www.auburn.edu/academic/other/womens_studies/
- Women's Studies Programs Worldwide http://www.research.umbc.edu/~korenman/wmst/programs.html
- Feminist Theory Website http://www.cddc.vt.edu/feminism
- Artemis Guide to Women's Studies in the U.S. http://www.artemisguide.com/
- Association for College and Research Libraries
- Women's Studies Section http://libr.org/wss/
- Women and Gender Studies Web Sites http://libr.org/wss/WSSLinks/index.html
- Feminist Studies http://www.feministstudies.org/
Women in Alabama
- Women Gather @ Eleanor's Tree http://www.e-etree.org/ETREE/
- Institute for Women's Policy Research http://www.iwpr.org/
- (Follow internal links for Status of Women in Alabama Report)
Women and Anthropology
- Feminist Anthropology http://www.indiana.edu/~wanthro/fem.htm
Women and Health
- National Women's Health Information Center http://www.4woman.gov/
- Canadian Women's Health Network http://www.cwhn.ca/indexeng.html
Women and Art
- National Museum of Women in the Arts http://www.nmwa.org
Women and History
- American Women's History: A Research Guide http://www.mtsu.edu/~kmiddlet/history/women.html
- Early Modern Women Database http://www.lib.umd.edu/ETC/LOCAL/emw/emw.php3
- Women in American History http://search.eb.com/women/
- National Women's History Project http://www.nwhp.org/
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html
- Frauenews [German Only] http://www.frauennews.de/themen/herstory/weltkrieg/
- Lesbian History Project: Links to Lesbian History http://www-lib.usc.edu/~retter/main.html
- Remember the Women Institute http://www.rememberwomen.org/
- ViVa: A bibliography of Women's History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals http://www.iisg.nl/~womhist/vivahome.html
- Women and the Holocaust http://www3.sympatico.ca/mighty1/
- Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights http://www.law.umaryland.edu/edocs/usccr/html%20files/usccrhp.asp
- Institute for Women's Policy Research http://www.iwpr.org/
- (Follow internal links for Status of Women in Alabama Report)
Women and Literature
- Women Writers http://www.womenwriters.net/
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/
- LitWomen.Org An umbrella site for not-for-profit organizations serving the literature and literacy needs of women.
- Other Women's Voices http://home.infionline.net/~ddisse/
- Victorian Women Writer's Project http://www.indiana.edu/~letrs/vwwp/
Women and Race
- Black American Feminism: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography http://www.library.ucsb.edu/blackfeminism/
Women and Communication
- Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World http://gos.sbc.edu
- Gender, Race and Ethnicity in Media http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/GenderMedia/mediadir.html
- Gender and Communication http://www.uark.edu/~aca/studies/gender.html
- Women's AudioVisuals http://webcat.library.wisc.edu:3200/WAVE/
Women and the Environment
- Studies in Women and the Environment http://csf.colorado.edu/forums/ecofem/