This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries 2018

The 2018 Series

This year-long series features programs on Auburn University research, history, and other topics of interest. The series is co-sponsored by the Auburn University Libraries, the Caroline Marshall Draughon Center for the Arts & Humanities and the Auburn University Bookstore. Lectures are held in the Special Collections Department of the Ralph Brown Draughon Library.

The Civil Rights Movement in the United States

Thursday, November 1, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Bernard LaFayette
Watch Lecture
Permalink

The Black Press and the American Apocalypse

Tuesday, October 23, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Benjamin Fagan
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Political Polarization in America: The War Over Two Social Contracts

Thursday, October 18, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Soren Jordan
Watch Lecture
Permalink

To Raise up the Man Farthest Down: Tuskegee University’s Advancements in Human Health, 1881-1987

Thursday, October 4, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dana Chandler
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Why the government Is Losing the Trust of Rural America

Thursday, September 20, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Loka Ashwood
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Auburn in Africa

Thursday, September 13, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Elizabeth I. Essamuah-Quansah
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Folklore and Mythology of the Center of Ireland: a Comparative Study

Thursday, August 30, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Frederic Armao
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Nurse Eunice Rivers and the Untold story of the United States Public Health Service Syphilis Study at Tuskegee

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Joan R. Harrell
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Binet’s Cycle de Melodies: Unearthing a Forgotten Song Cycle

Thursday, April 5, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr Matt Hoch
Watch Lecture
Permalink

From the Congo to the Convict Lease: Africa in Alabama Coal Mines

Tuesday, March 20, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Jennifer Brooks
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Democracy Is Rooted in Accessible, Secure, and Fair Elections: Looking Ahead to the 2018 Federal Election (An EAC Perspective)

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Thomas Hicks, Vice Chairman, United States Election Assistance Commission
Watch Lecture
Permalink

On Multilingualism

Thursday, February 22, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Iulia Pittman
Watch Lecture
Permalink

Getting Out of the Mud: The Alabama Good Roads Movement and Highway Administration, 1898-1928

Thursday, February 8, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Dr. Marty Olliff, Professor of History and Director of the Wiregrass Archives, Troy University, Dothan
Watch Lecture
Permalink

African American Covers of Country Music Before Ray Charles: Prevalence and Significance

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 @ 3:00 PM
by Tim Dodge
Watch Lecture
Permalink