9:34 AM, April 8, 2011


AUBURN, Ala. - Glenn Anderson, associate dean for collection development (Emeritus) at Auburn University Libraries, has been awarded the 2011 Sue O. Medina Award for Significant Contribution from the Alabama Association of College and Research Libraries (AACRL). The annual award honors library and information professionals and graduate students who work or reside in Alabama and have made a significant contribution in the area of college and research libraries on the local, state, regional, national or international level.

Anderson was selected to receive the award for his 32 years of service at Auburn University Libraries, and most particularly his last 12 years as assistant dean for collection development.

“Glenn Anderson’s contributions to the libraries of Alabama go far beyond the long and stellar job he has done for Auburn University,” said Rickey Best, board member and past president of AACRL. “His experience and ability to build consensus among diverse groups has resulted in all research libraries in Alabama getting better deals on their electronic database subscriptions, allowing member libraries to better serve their patrons.”

Anderson’s award will be officially presented at the AACRL yearly meeting on April 20 in Orange Beach, Ala.

“We’re very proud that Glenn Anderson has won this very prestigious award,” said Bonnie MacEwan, dean of Auburn University Libraries. “We’ve always known Alabama libraries were better off for Glenn’s work, but it is terrific to see his numerous accomplishments recognized with this award from AACRL.”

Anderson is the third member of Auburn University Libraries’ staff to have won the Sue O. Medina Award. Aaron Trehub, assistant dean for technology and technical services, won the award in 2010 and Marcia Boosinger, associate dean for public services, won the award in 2004.

(Contributed by W. Jayson Hill)

Posted by Auburn Libraries | in Announcements | Comments Off on Anderson Receives Significant Contribution Award

Comments are closed.